Skip to content


The Board of Directors is Welsh Athletics’ key decision-making body. The Board provides leadership, takes account of the stakeholders’ interests, and is accountable both for its own decisions and the actions of Welsh Athletics as a whole.

Minutes of meetings of the Board and its sub-groups.

The Board of Directors

  • Steve Perks (Chair)
  • Nick Everitt (Vice-Chair)
  • Lynne Brier (Chair of General Council)
  • Chris Gough (Finance)
  • Dan Clements (Performance)
  • Lorna Kerr (People & Culture)
  • Helen Adams (Equality, Diversity & Inclusion)
  • Tom Overton (Development and Participation)
  • Jonathan Ford (Commercial)
  • Lynne Brier (Clubs and Safeguarding)

Our Board Sub-Groups

The Welsh Athletics governance structure delegates authority to a number of key subgroups of the Board. The sub-groups will support the delivery of key strategic objectives, as well as providing oversight in key areas such as Governance and Finance & Audit.

People & Culture Sub-group

Terms of Reference

  • Lorna Kerr - NED (Chair)

  • Andrew Thomas - WA Staff (Secretary)

  • Eleanor Cartlidge - WA Staff

  • Tony John 

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Sub-group

Terms of Reference

  • Helen Adams - NED (Chair)
  • Chris Moss - WA Staff
  • Andrew Thomas - WA Staff
  • Libby Steele - WA Staff 
  • Bethan Davies - WA Staff 
  • Lorraine Mulvaney
  • Richard Dando
  • Stephen DeAbreu
  • Sue Greogory-Philips

Performance Sub-group

Terms of Reference

  • Dan Clements - NED (Chair)
  • Chris Type - Head of Performance (Secretary)
  • Chris Jones - National Coach
  • Rhys Williams - National Talent Development Coordinator - Sprints & Hurdles 
  • Stephen Bailey - Coach
  • Georgina Williams – UK Athletics Coach Education
  • Zoe Eaton – Sport Wales

Development & Participation Sub-group

Terms of Reference

  • Tom Overton (Chair)
  • Chris Moss - WA Staff (Secretary)
  • Rhys Jones
  • Ali Abdi
  • Alistair Dickson
  • Chris Pratt
  • Louisa Edwards
  • Joanna Bohannan-Walker
  • Rachel Bowen
  • Josie Rhisiart

Finance Sub-group

Terms of Reference

  • Chris Gough (Chair)

  • James Williams - CEO

  • Andrew Thomas - WA Staff

  • Jess Hardy - WA Staff

President & Vice President of Welsh Athletics

Role descriptions

  • President of Welsh Athletics – Graham Finlayson
  • Vice President of Welsh Athletics – Bernie Plain & Ian Griffiths

Appointments Panel

Terms of Reference

Oversees the recruitment and appointments process for all new Directors of the Company.

Membership of the panel varies by the role to be appointed and is fully described in the panel's terms of reference document (above)