Regional Councils

Regional Councils play a key role in the Governance of Welsh Athletics. Every Region has a nominated person for each discipline group who will represent the views of the Region. The Regional Councils are also a place for clubs to discuss and share challenges and opportunities for future development.

The Regions also have two nominated representatives on the General Council – ensuring that clubs, coaches, officials and volunteers views, concerns and successes can be shared with others across Wales.

Every club can attend a Regional Council and they are encouraged to contact their Regional Council to see what support their Region can provide to them.

Every Region supports a competition structure, including Regional and Inter-Regional Championships - events that play a key role in athlete development pathway across all age groups.

Full details on the Regional Councils can be found in the byelaws of Welsh Athletics.

Chair: Mrs Kay Hatton

 

Secretary: Paul Brooks

 

E-mail:north@welshathletics.org

 

Meeting dates:

  • 15th March
  • May 3rd
  • June 14th (A.G.M.)
  • September 6th
  • November 1st

Championships:

  • Track and field (outdoor): Queensway Stadium, Wrexham, Saturday 11th May. (Indoor) Coleg Cambria, Connahs Quay, Saturday 11th January 2020 t.b.c.
  • Fell/Mountain: Elidir Fawr 5.8 m fell race, Nant Peris, Sunday 1st September
  • Cross Country: Rhug Estate, Corwen: Saturday 4th January 2020 t.b.c.
  • Road running: Half marathon: Village Bakery, Wrexham Industrial Estate, Sunday 18th February
  • Marathon: Run Wales, Wrexham town centre, Sunday 17th March
  • 10 Miles: Run Wales, Rhyl promenade, Saturday 23rd February
  • 5km: Run Wales, Rhyl promenade, Sunday 23rd June
  • 10km: Helen Tipping Memorial, Wrexham Industrial Estate, Sunday 28th July
  • 5 Miles: Pensarn Promenade, Abergele, Sunday November 3rd
  • Trail: Fairy Freckled Cow race, at the Alwen reservoir in Denbighshire, Sunday 7th July

 

Chair: Hillary Gooding (interim)

Secretary: Bethan Akanbi-Mortimer – east@welshathletics.org

Meeting Dates: all at Newport Athletics Stadium

  • Wednesday 13th March
  • Wednesday 15th May
  • Wednesday 3rd July (AGM followed by meeting)
  • Wednesday 11th September
  • Wednesday 13th November

Championship Dates:

  •  Track and Field – 11th May in Aberdare (with the South Regional Champs)

Geographical Boundary: Bridgend, Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Vale of Glamorgan (Caerphilly)*

Chair: Dai Williams

Secretary: Jamie Clode – south@welshathletics.org or secretary.swrac@gmail.com 

Meeting Dates:

  • The next regional meeting is October 17th. 

Championship Dates: (All dates being finalized at meeting on 21/02) 

  •  The next championship events are junior hill running champs October 5th and Cross Country October 12th

 

Chair: Hedydd Davies

Secretary: Nathan Jones – west@welshathletics.org

Meeting Dates : 

  • Wednesday 13th March - Carmarthen Leisure Centre

Championship Dates:

  • Trail - Red Kite Half Marathon, 10K and Junior (U20, U17, U15) - Saturday 4th May
  • Track & Field – 11th May - Swansea
Top