Award of Honour

This award is open to individuals given in recognition of exceptional service to athletics in Wales. For the historical notes of the Welsh Athletics Service Awards click here.

Criteria for consideration

  • The award is made in recognition of a minimum of twenty five years of active service to the sport at club, schools, regional and or national level.
  • Individuals would normally have already received Meritorious Award but in exceptional cases the award may be given for outstanding services to athletics in Wales.
  • An individual may only receive an Award of Honour once but all achievements should be fully documented in the citation for the award and the records held by Welsh Athletics Ltd.

Most recent recipients - 2020:


Jeff Aston (Les Croupiers RC)

Dic Evans (Cardiff Athletics)

Kevin Evans MBE (Carmarthen Harriers)

Rob Hooper (Cardiff Athletics)

Sue Hooper (Cardiff Athletics)

David Jones (Swansea Harriers)

Dorrien Thomas (Carmarthen Harriers)

How do you nominate?

Please complete the 2020 Welsh Athletics Service Awards nomination form. 

For the full list of recipients please see the Roll of Honour PDF.