Welsh Schools athletes set for Schools International Cross Country in Dublin

20/03/2019 00:00, In School News /

SIAB Cross Country

Santry Demesne, Dublin – Saturday March 23rd. 2019

This coming weekend sees Welsh Schools take teams to Dublin for the annual Schools International Athletic Board’s Cross Country. Teams of 8 boys and girls will compete over the Junior and Middle age groupings incorporating pupils from Years 8 to 11 from schools across Wales. This year’s event also sees the addition of a 4x1500m Relay event (Middle age group only), this is to be contested by mixed teams (2 boys and 2 girls) and represents a first at the SIAB event, it also allows 4 more athletes to experience International competition.

Athletes from English Schools are expected to dominate the event but the Welsh Team will go into the weekend with high hopes of team medals across the age groups as they battle it out with athletes from our Celtic neighbours, Scotland and Ireland.

The SIAB teams are selected from performances at the Welsh Schools Championships held at Brecon in February. This weekend gives an opportunity to test form against the cream of cross- country talent from across the UK and Ireland.

The team departs from South Wales early on Friday morning for the journey to Holyhead with pick-ups along the way. All team members will then cross the Irish Sea together using the 2pm Irish Ferries sailing into the port at Dublin. Team HQ for the weekend will be at the Holiday Inn which lies just a short walk from the course. The Schools Association’s thanks go to the Management Team travelling with the party under Team Leader Zane Maynard (Morriston Comprehensive) as well as the small army of parents and family members travelling in support of the athletes. Good luck to all, especially those representing Wales for the first time. Congratulations also go to team Captains Ashleigh Willis (Olchfa) and Osian Perrin (St. Gerrards), both selected as Captains for the first time.

The full team for the SIAB International is as follows:

Middle Boys

Finley Hines

Ysgol Gyfun Ystalyfera, Neath Port Talbot

Adam Beer

Glan y Mor Comprehensive, Burry Port

Joe Reardon

Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun, Rhondda Cynon Taf

Iori Humphreys

Pembroke School, Pembrokeshire

Osian Perrin

St. Gerrard's School, Bangor

Ben Reynolds

Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni, Y Gwyndy, Caerphilly

Jacob Reynolds

Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni, Y Gwyndy, Caerphilly

Lloyd Sheppard

Blackwood Comprehensive, Caerphilly


Middle Girls

Ashleigh Willis

Olchfa Comprehensive, Swansea

Nia Clatworthy

Porthcawl Comprehensive, Bridgend

Samia Jones

Ysgol Syr Hugh Owen, Caernarfon

Moli Lyons

Ysgol Bro Morgannwg, Barry

Fiona Bostock

Howell's School, Cardiff

Alanah Hill

Radyr Comprehensive, Cardiff

Mia Goddard

Bishop of Llandaff, Cardiff

Boe-Celyn Jones

Dyffryn Ogwen, Bethesda


Junior Girls

Gwenno Goode

Ysgol Gyfun Bro Morgannwg, Barry

Sophie Evans

Coleg Cymunedol Y Dderwen, Bridgend

Abigail Davies

Porthcawl Comprehensive, Bridgend

Erin Andrews

Cowbridge Comprehensive, Cowbridge

Eden Edwards

St Richard Gwyn, Flint

Evie Watkins

Cowbridge Comprehensive, Cowbridge

Ceri Griffiths

Bassaleg School, Newport

Neisha Roberts

Ysgol Brynhyfryd, Denbighshire


Junior Boys

Oliver Jones

Newtown High, Newtown, Powys

Osian Tyrrell

Ysgol Gyfun Plasmawr, Cardiff

Math Thomas

Dyffryn Conwy, Llanrwst

Callum Morgan

Welshpool High, Welshpool, Powys

Frank Morgan

Ysgol Bro Myrddin, Carmarthen

Aled Breeze

Newtown High, Newtown, Powys

Rhys Llewellyn

Haverfordwest High, Pembrokeshire, Dyfed

Roman Hodgson

Prestatyn High School, Prestatyn



Dafydd Jones

Ysgol Bro Myrddin, Carmarthen

James Griffiths

Coleg Cymunedol Y Dderwen, Bridgend

Abbi Parkinson

Ysgol Brynrefail, Caernarfon

Aimee Callow

Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf, Cardiff


Management Team

Delyth Brown

John Messum

Joan Goldsmith

Carol Jones


SIAB Delegates

Dai Gatehouse

Zane Maynard

Steve Jones


Thanks to Steve Jones (WSAA) for the event preview and good luck to all athletes competing this weekend.