Skip to content

Welsh Athletics Annual General Meeting

05/11/2019 00:00, In Blog /

The Welsh Athletics Annual General Meeting recently took place at the Metropole Hotel, Llandrindod Wells with a number of key committee appointments being made.


Lynette Harries was re-elected as President of Welsh Athletics for a two-year term, both Ian Griffiths and Graham Finlayson were also re-elected as Vice Presidents for the same period. Also re-elected on two-year terms were Sue Hooper as secretary to the Track and Field Officials committee, Matt Ward (secretary to the Trail running committee), Arwel Lewis (secretary to the Mountain running committee) and Sharon Leech who will continue as secretary to the Road and Cross Country Committee.


Lynn Brier was elected to the role of secretary to the Track and Field committee, replacing fellow Swansea Harrier Judith Gooding who chose to step down after a two-year stint in the role.


The roles of secretary to the General Council and Endurance officials committee were left unfilled, with no nomination forthcoming.


Membership Fees


A proposal to increase athlete affiliation fee by £1 for the next 5 affiliation years, commencing April 1st 2020 was passed by the membership. Therefore from April 1st 2020, athlete affiliation fees to Welsh Athletics will be as follows;

  • Junior Members (up to and including U20) - £11
  • Senior Members - £18.50

Club affiliation fees will also increase from April 1st 2020 to £75 per club.


Provisional draft minutes for the 2019 Annual General Meeting will be available here