Skip to content

Weekend Round-Up (4-6 May 2024)

Joe Brier - World Champs.jpg

07/05/2024 00:00, In Blog /


Joe Brier (Swansea Harriers) was part of the Great Britain and Northern Ireland 4x400m squad which secured a place at this summer’s Paris Olympics Games.

Competing at the star-studded World Athletics Relays in Nassau, all five of the GB relay teams managed to qualify for Paris during a successful weekend of racing.

On the first day of competition, the men’s and women’s 4x100m teams and the men’s and women’s 4x400m teams booked their places in France by qualifying for their respective finals on day two at the Thomas A. Robinson Stadium.

The second day saw Brier, who represented GB at the last Olympics in Tokyo, drafted into the 4x400m team for their final which featured a highly competitive field.

The Welshman ran the third leg as the GB team eventually finished sixth in 3:02.62 behind winners Botswana, who claimed gold in a world lead time of 2:59.11. South Africa were second in 3:00.75 and Belgium third in 3:01.16.

Elsewhere on day two, GB women’s 4x100m quartet claimed a bronze medal in their final, clocking 42.80. The men’s team finished fifth in their final, while the women’s 4x400m team finished just outside the medals in fourth place.

Having finished third in their semi-final on Saturday night, the mixed 4x400m relay team, eventually clinched their place in Paris by winning their repechage heat on Sunday.



William Bishop (DSW Para Athletics/Cardiff Met) enjoyed a successful first couple of days at BUCS Athletics Outdoor Championships in Manchester.

The Commonwealth Youth Games T35/F35 competitor won the ambulant men's long jump final with a season’s best leap of 4.27m on Saturday.

The following day, Bishop finished second in the ambulant men's 100m final where he clocked a new personal best of 14.30.

Also, on the second day of competition, Mark Mellor (Cardiff Athletics/Loughborough) finished second in the men’s pole vault final with a new personal best of 4.88m.

On Monday, Abigail Pawlett (Loughborough/Trafford) won the women’s shot put (4kg) final with a new PB of 14.36m

Welsh champion Tom Wilcock (Northampton/Loughborough Students) claimed silver in the men’s 110m hurdles with a season’s best time 13.77. Gold was won by Daniel Goriola (Nottingham) in 13.66.

In the women’s 5,000m B Final, Katrina Entwistle (Bath/Bristol and West) finished third in a new personal best of 17.39.15.

In the relays which rounded off the championships, Cardiff Met finished third in the men’s 4x100m in a new fastest time of 41.28 and went one better in the men’s 4x400m by finishing second to Loughborough in a new fastest time of 3:16.57.



The hugely popular Cardiff 5K Race for Victory returned to the streets of Whitchurch on Sunday evening.

There was a thrilling finish to the men’s race where Dewi Griffiths (Swansea Harriers) claimed the win just ahead of Richard Allen (Leeds City AC) as both men clocked the same time of 14:03. The victory also earned Griffiths the Welsh 5K national title.

Jake Smith (Pontypridd Roadents) finished third in 14:09. Ben Reynolds (Cardiff Athletics) was the second Welsh athlete home in fourth place overall clocking 14:20, and he was followed home by James Heneghan (Pontypridd Roadents) in 14:26.

In the women’s race, European Under-20 Cross Country Champion Innes FitzGerald (Exeter Harriers) took the overall honours breaking the tape in 15:32.

In second place was Clara Evans (Pontypridd Roadents), who produced a personal best of 15:35, which meant she defended her the Welsh 5km title.

Jenny Nesbitt (Pontypridd Roadents) was next home in 15:40. Alaw Evans (Les Croupiers RC) finished sixth in 16:14, claiming the Bronze medal in the Welsh Championships behind Evans and Nesbitt.

Alan Davies (Swansea Harriers) took an impressive 54 seconds off the previous British Masters 70 record to set the new mark at 18:08, five weeks after setting a new British Record for 10 miles of 62:25 at the Teifi 10 Mile Race in Lampeter.



The Sirhowy Loop is a 6.66 mile multi-terrain race organised to celebrate the 40th anniversary of Islwyn Running Club.

The men’s race was won by Andrew Stamp (Griffithstown Harriers), who broke the tape in 49:59, ahead of Andy Wilton (San Domenico) in 52:58 and Jon Lewis (Griffithstown Harriers) in 58:19.

The first woman home was Holly Corlett (CDF Runners), who clocked a winning time of 1:00.56. Second was Jane Ogilive (Brackla) in 1:02.34, with Melissa Morgan (Islwyn) third in 1:05.36.


Keep up-to-date with the latest news and updates on our social channels.