Skip to content

Clowes and Griffiths set for the Speedway 10k on Sunday 16th 2019


14/06/2019 00:00, In Blog / Road /

Matt Clowes and Josh Griffiths will head the fields at the Speedway 10k which forms the second fixture in the 2019 Welsh 10k Series.

Sunday’s race uses a flat and fast course starting and finishing in Beachley near Chepstow and is described by organisers as a race for racers.

Clowes will start as the race favourite having dipped under 30 minutes for 10km twice this year and as the current Series leader following victory in Caerphilly last month. The Cardiff man was the inaugural winner of the biannual event last summer and finished third in 29:47 here in January. 

Swansea Harriers athlete Griffiths was the 2017 British Marathon Champion and was third at the Brecon Carreg Cardiff Bay Run in March, clocking 29:34.

2018 Welsh Cross Country Champion James Hunt of Cardiff AC has been edging ever closer to the illusive 30 minute mark later and will now look to dip under on Sunday.

Stuart Spencer of Notts AC, Tom Bains of Tipton Harriers and Aaron Richmond of Bideford AC are not eligible for the Welsh 10k Series but are amongst the leading entries in the open race.

Lucy Marland of Cardiff AC, Alaw Beynon-Thomas of Swansea Harriers and in-form Lauren Cooper of Parc Bryn Bach are the top Welsh entries in the women’s race. Marland currently leads the Welsh 10k Series following victory over Beynon-Thomas at the Bryn Meadows Caerphilly 10k.

Carla Swithenbank will also be racing. The MMRT athlete announced her presence on the local running scene with a 2:45.48 victory at the ABP Newport Wales Marathon last month.

Charlotte Taylor-Green of Bristol & West AC is the fastest athlete on paper outright with a 34:42 clocking at the Brighton 10k to her name.


For more information on the event, click here