Skip to content

Barry 40 Results & Report


25/05/2021 00:00, In Blog /

From Mick McGeoch

The 2020 edition of the Barry Track 40 Miles / Marathon was held on 1st March and one of the last events to be held before the initial lockdown. It seems fitting, therefore, that given the current restrictions, a small, personalised stadium-based ultra was always likely to be one of the safer options for staging as a means of emerging from lockdown. As if COVID wasn't enough of a problem to hurdle, the weather was unseasonably unsettled.

There was a strengthening south-westerly wind, and intermittent rain which became heavier in the afternoon. That said, the standard of the performances was outstanding, with the obvious stand-out performance being Ollie Garrod's gun-to-tape 4:00:53. Charlie Langley was a newcomer to this level of competition and his 4:20:38 in second was a huge bonus with ultra specialist Mark Bissell in third in 4:43:42.

The ladies race was closer with the most competitive field ever at the event. Eve Bugler found the conditions tough on her way to winning in 5:07:27, from Val Sesto in 5:18:12 and a welcome return for Jen Coleman in third in 5:19:08.

The Welsh Men's Ultra Championship resulted in another win for Jeremy Mower (Gloucester) in 5:03:42, his third gold and tenth medal in all in this race. Dave Coles (Les Croupiers) gained his third silver (previously 2004 and 2014) in a new Welsh M60 record of 5:14:50, with newcomer Henry Drake (Amman Valley) third in 5:23:57.

Jen Coleman (Les Croupiers) took gold in the ladies championship to repeat her win from 2011. Rachel Bowen (Lliswerry Runners), the champion for the last two years, had to settle for silver this time, but recorded a new personal best 5:43:10, a 10 minute improvement. In her first ever ultra, Veronica Singleton-Lawley (Les Croupiers) took bronze in 6:51:16.

13 of the 15 starters completed the 40 miles, an outstanding achievement, whilst both marathon starters, Emma Wookey (Lliswerry Runners, 3:29:10) and Carl Walsh (Ogmore Phoenix, 3:33:24) also completed the course.   

Very many thanks to a brilliant support team, all the volunteers, Vale of Glamorgan Council and Welsh Athletics.


  1. Ollie Garrod M28    

South London Harriers


  2. Charlie Langley M39

Woodstock Harriers


  3. Mark Bissell M34

East Hull Harriers


  4. Andy Day M51



  5. Jeremy Mower M55

Gloucester AC


  6. Eve Bugler F35

Clapham Chasers


  7. Dave Coles M61

Les Croupiers


  8. Valeria Sesto F48

Lymington Athletes


  9. Jen Coleman F46

Les Croupiers


10. Henry Drake M44

Amman Valley


11. Rachel Bowen F43

Lliswerry Runners


12. Izzy Cairns F42                      

Tynebridge Harriers


13. Veronica Singleton-Lawley F60

Les Croupiers



Garfield Jones M64

Rhedwr Eryri Harriers

132 laps in 6:19:14

Steph Wilson F42

Pudsey & Bramley AC

112 laps in 3:57:05


  1. Emma Wookey F27

Lliswerry Runners


  2. Carl Walsh M49

Ogmore Phoenix