Skip to content

Aberystwyth AC retain relay title

25/06/2021 00:00, In Blog / Club Notice Board /

Physical races are few and far between in these challenging times but virtual races have become very popular and Builth Wells running club recently held its 15 hour relay race, inviting clubs across Wales to take part.

The race was won twelve months ago by Aberystwyth Athletic Club – and now they have done it again – and regained their precious crown.

The race itself is run over 15 hours with runners asked to run a set time throughout the day while passing on the virtual baton to their club mates. There is naturally a competitive element but the emphasis is also firmly on participation and encouragement to get out and do some exercise.

On a scorchingly hot Sunday, twenty clubs across Wales took up the challenge starting at 5am, and after clocking up an impressive 122.53 miles, Aberystwyth AC’s Power Rangers secured top spot for the second successive year. The club’s second team, the Sofa Surfers secure a very credible 14th place, covering 99.38 miles throughout the day.

Aberystwyth AC’s entries were co-ordinated by club member Ian Brandreth, who took on an additional challenge of running two slots during the day:

“We are very fortunate as a club to have a strong membership and it is never a problem to find volunteers to take part in challenges such as this one. The focus is very much on taking part and supporting other clubs in mid Wales, but it’s always a bonus when we have this kind of success.


“It was probably the hottest day of the year – great to spend on the beach but not so great if you need to run for an hour and cover as many miles as possible – so it’s massive congratulations to all the runners.”

The runners involved were as follows:

  • Power Rangers: Will Lerigo, Gary Wyn Davies, Balasz Pinter, Isaac Ayres, Anita Worthing, Mel Hopkins, Ian Evans, Lynwen Huxtable, Ed Land, Ivan Courtier, Zoe Kennerley, Louise Barker, Paul Williams, Ian Brandreth, Mark Whitehead.
  • Sofa Surfers: Nick Thompson, Karen Davies, Ian Brandreth, Clare Lancaster, Mike Krawec, Karen Kemish, Heather Webster, Helen Stretch, Beth Jones, Meleri Wyn James, Deian Creunant, Neil Gamble, Lynsey Gamble, Theresa Sharland, Maggie Collingborn, Laura Hiscox, Elizabeth Kensler.

Aberystwyth Athletic Club has recently re-started its club in person training sessions, following on from its virtual programme training provision, and operates in line with current guidance. If you would like to join in its activities visit or find the club on Facebook.