Skip to content

118th Welsh Cross Country Championships Round-Up

Dewi Banner.png

27/02/2023 00:00, In Blog / Club Notice Board / Cross Country /

The 118th edition of the Championships was held at the Penlan Arena, Brecon with over 600 athletes competing across an 11-race programme. With the sun shining it was a great day of cross country running.


Senior Women

Olivia Tsim (Pontypridd Roadents) claimed her first Welsh Cross Country title after winning the fourth edition of the John H Collins Gwent Cross Country league. Her first Cross Country race in over 10 years.

Lucy Marland (Les Croupiers) was second across the finish line with a time of 24:01, also claiming the Women’s 35 Masters title. Martha Owen (Deeside AAC) completed the podium with a time of 24:33.


Senior Men

Dewi Griffiths (Swansea Harriers) claimed his 8th Senior title, completing the course in 31:39, Griffiths will be targeting the London Marathon in April.

It was a tight fight between second and third position, with six seconds separating the two. Tom Wood (Eryri Harriers) took silver, whilst Dan Nash (Cardiff Athletics) took Bronze.


U20 Women

Gwenno Goode (Cardiff Athletics) claimed her third national title of 2023, winning the U20 Women’s race.

Kelcy Hooper (Llanelli AAC) finished in second place, with Alyssa Baker (Newport Harriers) finishing in third place.


U20 Men

Dafydd Jones (Carmarthen & District Harriers) defended his title, completing the course in 20:28.

Lloyd Sheppard-Brown (Cardiff Athletics) upgraded his bronze medal from last year to a silver medal, with Adam Barber (Harborough AC) finishing in third place.


U17 Women

Beca Haf Bown (Menai Track and Field) added to her fine form this season taking the U17 Women’s title.

Welsh Schools silver medallist Caitlin Jones (Aberdare Valley AAC) added another silver medal to her 2023 medal tally. Eve Bailey (Winchester & District AC) took the bronze medal.


U17 Men

Joseph Rees Gara (Wigan & District H & AC) claimed the U17 Men’s title, finishing the course under 16 minutes. Welsh Schools Junior Champion, Iwan Thomas (Carmarthen & District Harriers) took the silver medal. And Welsh Schools Senior Champion, Henry Evans (Newport Harriers) claimed the bronze medal.


U15 Girls

It was Millie Gold (Cardiff Athletics) that claimed the U15 Girls title in 14:56, adding another Cross Country title to her tally. Abigail Doherty (Deeside AAC) was second across the finish line with 15:04, and Holly Humphreys (Swansea Harriers) completed the podium positions.


U15 Boys

2022 Welsh Schools Junior title holder, Joshua Sanders (Cardiff Athletics) claimed the U15 Boys title. Oberon Kearney (Welsh Anglo Athletes) took the silver medal, and current Welsh Indoors U15 3000m title holder and current Welsh Schools Junior Champion, Garyn Tough (Aberdare Valley AAC) claimed the bronze medal.


U13 Girls

After picking up the Welsh Indoors U15 3000m and Welsh Schools Junior title earlier this year, Bryony Boyce (Cardiff Athletics) picked up another national title. Heather Watson (Deeside AAC) claimed silver whilst Nansi Griffiths (Carmarthen & District Harriers) took the bronze medal.


U13 Boys

Welsh Schools Junior silver medallist, Finlay Burns (Cardiff Athletics) claimed in the U13 Boys title.

One second separated second and third place, it was Tom Garrod (Newport Harriers) that took the silver medal with a time of 10:26, and Alfie Evans (Deeside AAC) took bronze with a time of 10:27.

Find the full reults here!