Welsh Athletics Virtual League 2020

THIS FORMAT OF VIRTUAL LEAGUE WILL UNFORTUNATELY NO LONGER BE TAKING PLACE THIS SEASON DUE TO THE IMPACT OF THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC

Following a review of the 2018 and 2019 seasons, it is clear that the demand for event-specific competitions continues to grow.  As a result, Welsh Athletics is excited to announce the launch of its Virtual League for 2020 which will provide an alternative to the traditional league format of competition.

This Virtual League will cater for all disciplines/events across a series of engaging event-specific competitions but will also maintain the club ethos that is at the heart of the sport through inter-club competition as well as individual competition.  It is also hoped that this new format will provide more competition opportunities for athletes than the previous Welsh Athletics League format which operated a three-quarter timetable at four fixtures each season.

Aims of the Virtual League:

  • Provide competition that enhances the athlete experience at all levels and maximises the opportunity for enhanced performances
  • Maintain the ethos of inter-club competition in Wales with a points scoring system across a range of events throughout the season
  • Provide an alternative format of league competition for athletes of all abilities across a full range of events
  • Encourage participation at National Championship events

Incorporated Events:

An athlete's best three performances in any given event are scored using the World Athletics Points Scoring System from the following competition opportunities:

April  
Saturday 25th April #RunWithTheWind Sprints inc. selected jumps CISC  
Wednesday 29th April Welsh Milers by MDAL (inc. 400m & selected jumps) Cwmbran  
May  
Tuesday 5th May Cardiff Throws CISC  
Saturday 16th May #RunWithTheWind Sprints inc. selected jumps CISC  
Saturday 23rd May Welsh Milers by MDAL (inc. 400m & selected jumps) Swansea  
June  
Tuesday 2nd June Cardiff Throws CISC  
Sat 13th/Sun 14th June Welsh Junior Championships (U17 & U20s only to score) Newport  
Wednesday 24th June Welsh Milers by MDAL (inc. 400m & selected jumps) Newport  
Thursday 25th June Carmarthen Throws (TBC pending track status) Carmarthen  
Saturday 27th June #RunWithTheWind Sprints inc. selected jumps Swansea  
July  
Tuesday 7th July Cardiff Throws CISC  
Sat 11th & Sun 12th July Welsh Senior Championships CISC  
Sunday 19th July #RunWithTheWind Sprints inc. selected jumps Newport  
Wednesday 22nd July Welsh Milers by MDAL (inc. 400m & selected jumps) - pre-programme to Welsh Athletics International CISC  
Tuesday 28th July Cardiff Throws CISC  
Thursday 30th July Carmarthen Throws Carmarthen  

The league will culminate in a Finals Weekend which will take place on Saturday 15th August (Cardiff) & Sunday 16th August (Swansea) with the top 8 athletes in each event invited to compete in an end-of-season showdown.

Scoring Categories:

  • Best Club - Overall, Male, Female, Age Group, Event Group
  • Best Individual - Overall, Male, Female, Age Group

Download Welsh Athletics Virtual League Quick Guide

Uchaf