Skip to content

2020 Award Winners

29/10/2020 00:00, I Mewn Blog /

The following award nominations were all approved by the Members at the AGM last weekend - Congratulations and Thank You to you all on behalf of all at Welsh Athletics:

Life Membership of Welsh Athletics

Joyce Tomala

Joyce's involvement has included team management, chair and secretary at her Club, Regional and National levels. Within the club setting, Joyce coached sprints and hurdles and also served as a technical official. She has been a key volunteer in British and Welsh Leagues and served as Meeting Director for Track and Field events in Wales and England. In addition has played a major role within Welsh Athletics as secretary of the General Council, a leading member of several committees and task groups and continues to serve as chair of two major committees as well as undertaking a prominent role in the organisation and delivery of the UK YDL.

Meritorious Award.

  • Lynn Brier (Swansea Harriers)
  • Marc Hobbs (Swansea Harriers)
  • Andrew Jenkins (Swansea Harriers)
  • Sharon Leech (Swansea Harriers)
  • Christopher Price (Cwmbran Harriers)
  • Kevin Tobin (Swansea Harriers)

Award of honour 

  • Jeff Aston (Les Croupiers RC)
  • Dic Evans (Cardiff Athletics)
  • Kevin Evans MBE (Carmarthen Harriers)
  • Rob Hooper (Cardiff Athletics)
  • Sue Hooper (Cardiff Athletics)
  • David Jones (Swansea Harriers)
  • Dorrien Thomas (Carmarthen Harriers)

Athlete Achievement Award

  • Steve Brace (Bridgend AC)
  • Neil Horsefield (Newport Harriers)
  • Catherine Murphy (Woodford Green & Essex Ladies)
  • Sarah Moore (Bristol AC)
  • Hilary Thomas (Sale Harriers)


The full Welsh Athletics Roll of Honour is available here, and more details of the Awards here.