Skip to content

Fast feet, Fast Cars & Fireworks - Cardiff 5k


02/05/2019 00:00, I Mewn Blog / Road /

Jon Hopkins will defend his Welsh 5km title with Caryl Jones, Elinor Kirk and Clara Evans leading the charge in the women’s race. Hopkins and Evans are just back from an altitude Training camp in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and will be looking for fast times.

The championships will again take place within the Cardiff 5k – Race For Victory. The Sunday evening race offers a flat and fast route, great competition and a festival atmosphere with live music, street food and a Supercar Parade.

This weekend’s race will see not only the best in Wales compete for Welsh 5k Championship crowns, but also regional teams from across the UK battling it out. The inter-area match will see male and female teams from the home nations and Armed Forces taking on the fast but challenging course. Teams competing are:

  • Wales
  • Northern Ireland
  • England Midlands
  • England North
  • Armed Forces

The Welsh athletes battling for individual and team honours include last year’s winner, Jon Hopkins and fellow Gold Coast Steeplechaser, Ieuan Thomas, Commonwealth marathon runner Caryl Jones, and a Welsh debut for Sophie Harris. Ieuan will be looking to claim his Fourth Welsh title at the distance. Swansea Harrier Guy Smith will also race in the Welsh team along with Matthew Edwards of Cardiff AC.

UK Inter-Counties Cross Country Champion, Adam Hickey is the top non- Welsh entry and the only athlete in the field who has run sub 14 minutes for the distance on the road in the past. Newport Harrier, Abed Teweldebrhan was third last year and along with Peter Lewis of the RAF and Chris Madden of Northern Ireland & Ulster, will be looking to get amongst the podium places.

The women’s race is likely to see Swansea Harriers Caryl Jones and Elinor Kirk contest the title along with in form Clara Evans of Cardiff AC. Jones is the 3rd fastest Welsh athlete over 10km of all time with Kirk sitting 4th on the same list. Both athletes have run 15:37 for 5,000m on the track in the past.

Evans’ greatest show of form was a 72:49 best for Half Marathon set earlier this year in Barcelona. Track star Jade Williams and Belgrave Harrier Sophie Harris will also race for Wales. Kate Maltby of Bristol & West AC will lead the Midland Counties team and is likely to be at the sharp end of the racing on Sunday. Tamara Beach of Les Croupiers RC and Sarah Mackness of the North of England are the next fastest on paper.

Full Welsh Teams

Guy Smith (Swansea Harriers)

Clara Evans (Cardiff AC)

Matthew Edwards

Jade Williams (Amman Valley)

Ieuan Thomas (Cardiff AC)

Caryl Jones (Swansea Harriers)

Jonathan Hopkins (Swansea Harriers)

Sophie Harris (Swansea Harriers)


Previous Welsh Title winners


Male winners

Female winners

06 May 2018   Cardiff               

14:18    Jonathan Hopkins                

15:40    Charlotte Arter               

30 Apr 2017   Cardiff               

14:35    Tom Marshall-2nd time  

16:58    Alaw Beynon-Thomas 

20 Aug 2016   Bridgend              

14:38    Ieuan Thomas-3rd time

17:05    Jade Williams

01 Aug 2015   Tredegar              

14:42    Ieuan Thomas-2nd time

17:45    Heidi Davies

29 Jun 2014   Rhyl                  

15:14    Josh Griffiths

18:24    Katie Parry