Wales at Loughborough International

In an all-important year for athletes to lay down a 2018 Commonwealth Games nomination standard, Wales will put out its best possible senior team to compete against England, Scotland, British Universities, Loughborough Past and Present, and GB & NI Juniors at this year’s Loughborough International. The team, who compete in Loughborough on the 21st May, includes athletes with an array of experience, from those competing in their first senior Welsh vest, to European, Commonwealth and World medallists.

The team will be headlined by 2016 Olympian Seren Bundy-Davies, who competes in the 400m and 4 x 400m relay, and also includes Commonwealth medallist Sally Peake, senior national record holders Ben Gregory and Brett Morse, European medallist Laura Maddox and European U23 Champion David Omoregie. With Sally Peake having already achieved a Commonwealth A standard within the qualifying period, and Ben Gregory, Brett Morse and Adele Nicoll holding an assortment of B standards between them, it is hoped that the 59th Loughborough International will be the perfect early season competition for even more Welsh athletes to gain those much sought-after nomination standards.

More information on the Loughborough International including the provisional timetable can be found here:

The Team


Sam Gordon (coach: Matt Elias) Club: Cardiff AAC

Hannah Williams (Darrell Maynard) Bristol & West AC


Tom Williams (Tom Meyer) Barry & Vale AC

Melissa Roberts (Matt Elias) Birchfield Harriers


Owen Smith (Matt Elias) Cardiff AAC

Seren Bundy Davies (Stephen Ball) Trafford AC


Alex Coomber (Arwyn Davies) Cardiff AAC

Issy Parry-Jones (Darell Maynard) Cwmbran


Kyran Roberts (Delyth Brown) Carmarthen

Julia Cook (Bud Baldaro) Birchfield Harriers


Rowan Axe (Craig Winrow) Cardiff AAC

Cari Hughes (Andy Walling) Menai T&F

3000m s/chase

Jade Williams (James Thie) Amman Valley

Sprint Hurdles

Glen Elsdon, Carmarthen

400m Hurdles

Paul Bennett (Adrian Thomas) Cardiff AAC

Caryl Granville (Darrell Maynard) Swansea Harriers

4 x 100m

Sam Gordon

David Omoregie (Benke Blomvkist) Cardiff AAC

James Griffiths (Tom Meyer) Cardiff AAC

Joshua Brown, Cardiff AAC

Kristian Jones (Glyn Hawkes/Helen James) Cardiff AAC

Tom Williams

Dewi Hammond (Matt Elias) Cardiff AAC

Anax Da Silva (Darrell Maynard) Cardiff AAC

Mica Moore (Lawrence Moore) Birchfield Harriers

Melissa Roberts (Matt Elias) Birchfield Harriers

Rebecca Chapman

Hannah Williams

Amy Odunaiya (David Norton) Wrexham AC

Katie-Jane Priest (Kevin Williams) Swansea Harriers

4 x 400m

Owen Smith

Alex Coomber

Debo Ademuyewo, Sale Harriers

Iori Moore (Matt Elias) Cardiff AAC

Paul Bennett

Liam McGivern (Martin Cook) Wrexham AC

Melissa Roberts

Seren Bundy-Davies

Rhiannon Linington-Payne (Adrian Thomas) Cardiff AAC

Caryl Granville

Laura Maddox (Colin Bovell) Swansea Harriers

High Jump

William Edwards (Stephen Bailey) Carmarthen

Long Jump

Ben Gregory (Aston Moore) Birchfield Harriers

Rebecca Chapman (Fran Baker) Cardiff AAC

Triple Jump

Osaze Aghedo (Steve Ingram) Swansea Harriers

Sian Swanson (Sean Power) Swansea Harriers

Shot Put

Gareth Winter (Zane Duquemin) Sheffield & Dearne

Adele Nicoll (Adrian Palmer) Birchfield Harriers

Pole Vault

Ben Gregory (Aston Moore) Birchfield Harriers

Sally Peake (Scott Simpson) Birchfield Harriers


Brett Morse Cardiff AAC

Awen Rosser (Paul Jenson) Swansea Harriers


Jonathan Edwards (John Edwards) City of Plymouth

Amber Simpson (John Parkin) Deeside AAC


Bethan Rees (Mark Pinner) Cannock & Stafford AC

Team correct as of 15/05/2017

Team Staff

Sprints, hurdles and relays: Matt Elias and Kevin Williams

Jumps: Laurie Needham and Fran Baker

Throws: Ryan Spencer-Jones and Mark Pinner

Endurance: Andy Walling

Physiotherapists: Adam Rattenberry and Ollie Wilding

Team Leader: Scott Simpson

Team Managers: Emma Wiltshire and Mike Delaney

Assistant Team Manager: Dave Goodger

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA