Welsh Athletics Awards recognise the success of our sport

The Coldra Court Hotel by Celtic Manor provided an ideal setting for the Welsh Athletics Awards Dinner where almost 200 people came together to recognise and celebrate the fantastic work by our clubs, social running groups and volunteers over the last 12 months.  Over 300 nominations were received across the various categories, the highest number ever received.

The evening was led by Rob Cole and National Performance Centre Coach, Matt Elias, who also led a series of questions and answers with the likes of Matt Newman, CEO of Welsh Athletics and Sioned Jones, Run Wales National Manager.

The evening also provided the opportunity to reflect on the strides made by both Welsh Athletics and Run Wales.  Social running and mass participation is ever on the increase whilst club membership surpassed 11,000 members for the first time.  The event provided the perfect oppoortunity to acknowledge the achievements of our officials in 2017 as well.  9 of the 11 officials at the World and World Para Athletics Championships attended the evening and a tribute was paid to their hard work by all present.

On the performance side, Welsh athletes boast 15 Commonwealth Games ‘A’ standards and 7 ‘B‘ standards, a number of whom were present at the evening. Two awards for recognition of outstanding achievement were also given – Josh Griffiths for his performance in the Virgin London Marathon, and Aled Sion Davies for his dominant season, culminating in a fantastic World Record throw in the World Para Athletics Championships.

A special thanks to Direct Source for providing the awards for the evening.  Welsh Athletics would like to congratulate all nominees and award winners.  The award recipients were:

Volunteer of the Year
Nathan Jones (Carmarthen Harriers)

Services to Club Development
Samantha Perrott (Run4All Neath) 

Newcomer to Officiating
Peter Gregson (Cardiff AAC)

Young Official of the Year
Amy Price (Cwmbran Harriers)

Off Track Official of the Year
Graham Finlayson (Cardiff AAC)

Track & Field Official of the Year
Dave Jessett (Swansea Harriers)

Development Club of the Year
Rhymney Valley AC

Inclusivity Club of the Year
Cardiff AAC

Junior Club of the Year
Cardiff AAC

Off Track Club of the Year
Swansea Harriers

Track & Field Club of the Year
Swansea Harriers

Track & Field Participation Coach of the Year
Rob Saddler (Rhymney Valley AC)

Off Track Participation Coach of the Year
Ceri-Anne Brown (Run4All Neath)

Track & Field Performance Coach of the Year
Paul Darney (Cardiff AAC) 

Off Track Performance Coach of the Year
James Thie (Cardiff AAC)

Run Wales Group of the Year
Canton Chargers

Run Wales Group Leader of the Year
Cat Johnson (Diva Sport / Run Diva) 

Junior Track & Field Athlete of the Year
Jake Heyward (Cardiff AAC)
Sarah Omoregie (Cardiff AAC)

Junior Off Track Athlete of the Year
Matthew Willis (Wrexham AAC)
Cari Hughes (Swansea Harriers)

Track & Field Athlete of the Year
David Omoregie (Cardiff AAC)
Melissa Courtney (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers)

Off Track Athlete of the Year
Dewi Griffiths (Swansea Harriers)
Bethan Davies (Cardiff AAC)

Outstanding Performance Award – Off Track
Josh Griffiths (Swansea Harriers)

Outstanding Performance Award – Track & Field
Aled Sion Davies (Cardiff AAC)

International Performance Coach of the Year
Ryan Spencer Jones

Overall Club of the Year
Cardiff AAC

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA