UK Athletics recently announced the election of nine members to the newly formed “Athletes’ Commission” following the first wave of the nomination process. Formed with the purpose of ensuring athletes voices are heard by UK Athletics’ Performance Oversight Committee and the UKA Board, the first step of significance in populating the Commission was to invite nominations from athletes who have competed for British Athletics in the last six years. From the nine British members elected, two of them are Welsh. The first of these Welsh members is Hurdler Dai Greene. Dai is a former World, European and Commonwealth games Champion in the 400m hurdles and is also the second fastest British Man over the 400m hurdles of all-time. The other Welsh Member is ultra-runner John Pares of Buckley RC who is currently ranked eight on the UK all-time 100km rankings list. Pares has represented Great Britain on multiple occasions at world and European ultra-running championships and is based in North Wales. Each member will be invited to stand for an initial two year term of office, while, once filled to capacity, the Commission will vote among themselves to choose who is to become the Chair. The Commission Chair will serve for an initial term of four years.


The full list of members elected is below:

Abdul Buhari (Discus)

Jamie Bowie (400m)

Hannah England (1500m)

Dai Greene (400m Hurdles)

Stephen Miller (Club Throw)

John Pares (Ultra Distance Runner)

Isobel Pooley (High Jump)

Goldie Sayers (Javelin)

Richard Yates (400m Hurdles)






Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA