Welsh Team Named for Celtic Games

Welsh Athletics is pleased to name 49 athletes across the U16 and U18 age groups who will compete in the Celtic Games 2017, which this year will take place at the Morton stadium in Dublin, Ireland on Saturday 5th August. The team will feature athletes from the U16 and U18 age groups who will compete against teams from Scotland, Ireland and an Irish Development Team

The team will feature all five athletes who recently competed at the Commonwealth Youth Games, including U18 British record holders and Commonwealth Youth silver medallists James Tomlinson (Paul Jensen, Pembrokeshire Harriers) in the discus and Sarah Omoregie (Gareth Lease, Cardiff AAC) in the shot putt. Their team mates Lauren Evans (Nigel Lewis, Cardiff AAC), Naomi Reid (Phil Banning, Cardiff AAC) and Bethany Moule (John Davies, Neath Harriers) will compete in the 100mH, 800m and javelin respectively.

Other exciting additions to the team include Tom Hewson (Mark Bradford, Andover AC) who currently tops the UK U17 rankings for the javelin, and who will be returning to the stadium he won gold at the SIAB Track and Field Championships recently, where he threw an impressive 68.17m with the 700gm implement. Other winners at that Championships who will be competing in the U18 age category for Wales include Kiara Frizelle (Phil Banning, Cardiff AAC) in the 1500m, and Owain Lloyd-Hughes (Peter Walton, Neath) in the 200m.

As usual, the U16 team will only compete in a select number of events, and with a number of in-form sprinters named within the U16 team, the mixed relay squad of Carter Staples (Kevin Williams), Macey Morris (Kevin Williams, Newport Harriers), Zach Price (Barry Edwards, Menai T&F), Grace Morgan (Nigel Lewis, Cardiff Archers) and Tyler Cook (Swansea Harriers) will look to take some scalps from their Irish and Scottish competitors.

U18 Team


Jeremiah Azu (coach: Helen James, club: Cardiff AAC)

Issie Tustin (Jeff Harwood, Cardiff AAC)


Owain Lloyd-Hughes (Pete Walton, Neath)

Moli Jones (Philip Jones, Colwyn Bay)


Seth Kelly (Liz Davies, Cardiff AAC)

Ffion Roberts (Philip Jones, Colwyn Bay)


Owen Hibbert (Deeside AAC)

Naomi Reid (Phil Banning, Cardiff AAC)


Remi Adebiyi (Darryn McAtee, Newport Harriers)

Kiara Frizelle (Phil Banning, Cardiff AAC)


Elliot Lawrence (Kevin Tobin, Swansea)

Abi Fisher (Phil Banning, Cardiff AAC)

1500m/2000m s/chase

Ben Thomas (Neil Thomas, Carmarthen)

Lucy Davies (Peter Freeman, Pembrokeshire)

Sprint Hurdles

Shaun Zygadlo (Nigel Rowland, Pembrokeshire)

Lauren Evans (Nigel Lewis, Cardiff AAC)

400m Hurdles

Harvey Reynolds (David Norton, Cardiff AAC)

Bethan Burley (self coached, Wimborne)

4 x 100m

Men From:

Jeremiah Azu

Owain Lloyd-Hughes

Iwan Robinson-Booth (Helen James, Cardiff AAC)

Shaun Zygadlo


Women From: 

Issie Tustin

Moli Jones

Lauren Evans

Sophie Mathews (Brecon AC)

Armani Williams (Kevin Williams, Newport)

4 x 400m

Men From:

Seth Kelly

Harvey Reynolds

Owen Hibbert

Steffan Jones (Judith Gooding, Swansea Harriers)

Remi Adebiyi


Women From:

Ffion Roberts

Naomi Reid

Bethan Burley

Gabrielle Fakande (Phil Banning, Cwmbran AC)  

Armani Williams

High Jump

Jack Moore (Jeremy Dale, Yate)

Thea Jenkins (Pembrokeshire)

Long Jump

Thomas Britt (Edward Thompson, Cardiff AAC)

Emily Thomas (Nigel Lewis, Cardiff AAC)

Triple Jump

Thomas Atkinson (Diane Breeden, Cardiff AAC)

Macey Jones (Nigel Lewis, Cwmbran) 

Shot Put

Jay Morse (Ian Leek, Cardiff AAC)

Sarah Omoregie (Gareth Lease, Cardiff AAC

Pole Vault

Mark Mellor (Edward Thompson, Cardiff Archers)

Megan Hodgson (Gareth Lease, Cardiff AAC)


James Tomlinson (Paul Jensen, Pemrokeshire Harriers)

Danielle Jones (Carmarthen)


Ffion Palmer (Adrian Palmer, Cardiff AAC


Tom Hewson (Mark Bradford, Andover AC)

Bethany Moule (John Davies, Neath Harriers)




Carter Staples (Kevin Williams)


Macey Morris (Kevin Williams, 


David Locke (Darryn McAtee, Newport)


Mia Roberts (John Messum, Deeside AAC)

Sprint Hurdles

Tyler Cook (Swansea Harriers)

Grace Morgan (Nigel Lewis, Cardiff Archer)

Long Jump

Zachary Price (Barry Edwards, Menai T&F)

High Jump

Lili Church (Dorrien Thomas, Carmarthen)


Holly Cooper (Renate Prells, Swansea Harriers)

Shot Putt

Dylan Bevan (Ryan Spencer-Jones, Newport)


Elliot Odunaiya (Ian Robinson, Wrexham)

Mixed Relay (from)

Carter Staples

Zach Price

Tyler Cook

Macey Morris

Grace Morgan


Team Staff

Sprints, hurdles and relays: Matt Elias, Kevin Williams and Steve Boyles

Jumps: Edward Thompson and Sharon Heveran

Throws: Adrian Palmer and Pete Roberts

Endurance: Delyth Brown

Physiotherapists: Oliver Wilding

Team Leader: Neil Wheeler

Team Managers: Phil Banning, Debbie Bull, Barry Edwards and Emma Wiltshire

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA