Five Welsh Athletes selected as part of British Team for the Great Edinburgh XCountry

Following on from the success of the British Team at the Eurpoean Cross Country Championships in Samorin, five of the six Welsh athletes at those Championships will again represent Great Britain at the Great Edinburgh XCountry on Saturday 13th January 2018.

After his unfortunate withdrawal through hamstring cramp last weekend, Dewi Griffiths (Kevin Evans) will be looking to bounce back in the Senior Men's race. 

As the highest place British finisher at the European Cross Country Championships, Matthew Willis (self-coached) will lead the field in the U20 Men's race.  He will once again be joined by Jake Heyward (James Thie) who will be looking to recover from a chest problem that affected his run in Slovakia.

After finishing as the second British runner in the U20 Women's race last weekend and bringing home a team gold medal, Cari Hughes (Andrew Walling) will star again in Edinburgh and will look to continue her fine winter form.

After anchoring the British team to victory in the first ever Senior Mixed Relay at the European Cross Country Championships Tom Marshall (James Thie) will run as part of the 4x1km Relay that is yet to be beaten at the Great Edinburgh XCountry.

The Simplyhealth Great Edinburgh XCountry is a team competition pitting the British Athletics team against Europe and the USA, also including an exciting international mixed relay. The event takes place in Edinburgh’s Holyrood Park and is free to spectate. It will be televised live on BBC One from 13:15 – 15:15 on Saturday 13 January 2018.

Senior Women:
Katie Bingle (Mick Woods, Aldershot Farnham & District)
Philippa Bowden (Mick Woods, Aldershot Farnham & District)
Emelia Gorecka (Chris Thompson, Aldershot Farnham & District)
Amy Griffiths (Rob Denmark, Aldershot Farnham & District)
Jess Judd (Mick Judd, Chelmsford)
Harriet Knowles-Jones (Paul Roden, Warrington)
Phoebe Law (Mick Woods, Kingston & Poly)
Mhairi MacLennan (John Lees, Inverness)
Elle Vernon (David Turnbull, Stockport)

Senior Men:
Ben Connor (Steve Vernon, Stockport)
Patrick Dever (Andy Bibby, Preston)
Nick Goolab (Craig Winrow, Belgrave)
Dewi Griffiths (Kevin Evans, Swansea)
Mahamed Mahamed (Peter Haynes, Southampton)
Chris Olley (Mark Hookway, Tonbridge)
Sam Stabler (Rob Denmark, Wreake & Sour Valley)
Alex Teuten (Roderick Lock, Southampton)
Andy Vernon (Nic Bideau, Aldershot Farnham & District)

Senior Mixed Relay:
Alex Bell (Andrew Henderson, Pudsey & Bramley)
Adam Clarke (Geoff Watkin, Aldershot Farnham & District)
Tom Marshall (James Thie, Cardiff AC)
Laura Muir (Andy Young, Dundee Hawkhill)

U20 Women:
Phoebe Barker (Richard Owen, Tonbridge)
Niamh Brown (Mick Woods, Aldershot Farnham & District)
Cari Hughes (Andrew Walling, Swansea)
Khahisa Mhlanga (Mick Judd, Chelmsford)
Eloise Walker (John Lees, Edinburgh)
Erin Wallace (Dudley Walker, Giffnock North) 

U20 Men:
Jake Heyward (James Thie, Cardiff)

Ricky Lutakome (Nick Hancock, Sutton & District)
Tom Mortimer (Christopher Brown, Stroud)
Hugh Sadler (David Bedwell, Bristol & West)
Lachlan Wellington (Vince Stamp, City of Portsmouth)
Matthew Willis (Self-coached, Wrexham)

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA