Welsh 5km titles for Tom Marshall & Alaw Beynon-Thomas

Tom Marshall (Cardiff AAC) and Alaw Beynon-Thomas sealed Welsh 5km Road Race Championship titles at the Cardiff 5k - Race for Victory on Sunday.

The race had been selected to host the Championships following a succesfull  inaugural edition 12 months ago.

The start of the 2017 Cardiff 5k - Race for Victory

Whitchurch village proved the ideal setting for the race that takes runners on a flat and fast route around Whitchurch and Llandaff North.

The entry had doubled for 2017 with over 1600 runners in the race overall and over 500 in the Welsh Championships.

In addition to the race, the event hosted live music, street food and a pyrotechnics display. The incredible atmosphere and community support helped to make the race quite unique.

The race pictured at the 4km mark

BBC Weather Presenters Derek Brockway and Sue Charles started the race with Brockway providing a weather prediction for the competitors, prior to the race.

Tom Marshall had started as one of the race favourites for the Championships and was the defending race champion.

Carwyn Jones (Cardiff AAC) and James Hunt (Cardiff AAC) joined Marshall at the front with the trio around 40 metres clear heading in to the last kilometre.

Jack Gooch (Swansea Harriers) led the chasers which included Abed Teweldebrhan (Newport Harriers) and Owain Jones (Bristol & West).

Tom Marshall taking victory

It was Marshall however who overcame his clubmates to secure his first Welsh 5km title since 2009, in 14.35.

Jones similarly overcame Hunt to finish in 14.41 with his clubmate finishing in 14.44

Cardiff AAC dominated the team race in the Championships with Aberdare Valley AAC second and Les Croupiers in third.

Alaw Beynon-Thomas was a comfortable winner

The Women's race also saw one of the pre-race favourites running away from the field. This time it was Alaw Beynon-Thomas (Swansea Harriers), scraping uunder 17 minutes to finish in 16.58

Liz Davies (Springfield) was the second athlete home with Natasha Cockram (MMRT) finishing next and taking Welsh Championships Silver.

Carys Hughes (Cardiff AAC) took the Bronze medal in the Championships, leading her club to the team title. Lliswerry Runners finished in second with Cardiff Archers in third.

Pics by Paul Stillman

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA