Large numbers for the Welsh 5km Championships

Over 500 runners have entered the Welsh 5km Road Race Championships on Sunday 30th April.

The race will take place as part of the Cardiff 5k Race for Victory following the success of the innaugural edition in 2016.

The 5km Championshps were in Bridgend last year

Tom Marshall (Cardiff AAC) was the outright winner on that occasion and will contest the Championships on Sunday as one of the favourites.

He ran the second fastest time at the ERRA National Autumn Road Relay Championships earlier in April and holds the fastest PB in the field over 5,000m at 14.19

Tom Marshall pictured winning in Whichurch in 2016

Cardiff AAC's Carwyn Jones, Dan Nash, James Hunt and Mike Kershaw will support Marshall in the team event. Swansea Harriers will be led by Jack Gooch, Phil Matthews and Paul Tobin.

Owain Jones (Bristol & West AC) was the 2014 Welsh 10km Champion and will also start among the favourites on Sunday. Abed Teweldebrhan (Newport Harriers) should also feature.

The start of the Women's Championships in 2016

The Women's Championships are likely to see a contest between Natash Cockram (MMRT), Alaw Beynon-Thomas (Swansea Harriers) and Carys Hughes (Cardiff AAC).

Cockram has been absent from the racing scene in Wales whilst studying at Tulsa University in the USA on an Athletics Scholarship.

Beynon-Thomas is the fastest female athlete on paper and was a member of the Swansea Harriers Team who took Silver medals at the ERRA National Road Relay Championships in Birmingham.

The race starts at 7pm on Merthyr Road and takes athletes on a flat and fast loop of Whitchurch and Llandaff North.

The event also offers live entertainment, a variety of street food and a carnival atmoshphere. 


Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA