Inter-Regional Cross Country victory for the South

The South region stormed to team victory at the 18th Welsh Inter-Regional Cross Country Championships on Saturday.

The event took place on an entirely new course at the Penlan Arena in Brecon. Heavy rain for most of the day wasn’t enough to stop the event enjoying its largest fields for many years.

Daisy Thompson (West) was a large pre-race favourite following her fourth place at the Liverpool Cross Challenge and as expected, took the U13 girls title.

Daisy Thompson winning the U13 girls race (pic by Paul Stillman)

Jacob Reynolds (South) took U13 boys honours. The West region secured the next six places in the race to score an emphatic team victory.

Mia Roberts (North) successfully defended her title in the U15 girls race. Roberts is also the current Welsh Cross Country Champion for the age group.

Nathan Jones (West) took the U15 boys title in a race won by the North region. Sebastian Lewis (West) and James Penrose (South) took the next two places respectively.

Abigail Fisher (East) won the U17 women’s race at the head of a strong field which saw Kiara Frizelle (South) and Maomi Reid (South) take the next two spots. The South took a large victory over the West region.

Oliver Barbaresi (North) was a comfortable U17 men’s winner after finishing as runner-up last year. The Menai Track & Field athlete was another pre-race favourite who has proved to be the athlete to beat amongst Welsh competition this year.

Bethan Evans (South) scored one of the largest winning margins of the day in the U20 women’s race. Her team mate Georgia Cole (South) was the next home with Rhiannon Kimmink (North) in third.

Ciaran Lewis (South) was another pre-race favourite who delivered with U20 men's victory over Ben Pease (West), Oliver Dickinson (Wells City) running as a guest and Logan Smith (West) who took bronze in the Inter-Regional Championships.

The senior women’s race saw Alaw Beynon-Thomas (West) prevail after running much of the race with Brecon born Hannah Jarvis (East). Jarvis maintained second place with Clara Evans (South), finishing third.

The East won the Senior Women’s and all three master categories in the women’s race.

The men’s race similarly saw two athletes share the lead for the majority of their race. Jonathon Tobin (West) ultimately proved too strong for Carwyn Jones (South) who finished as runner up. Matthew Rees (West) also finished on the podium.

Jonathan Tobin (left) won the senior men's race (pic by Paul Stillman)

The South took victory in the men's race and in the M35 category. The East came out on top at M45 and M55 level.

Katie Beecher (South), Nicola Gething (East) and Lindy Eynon (West) took women's victory at W35, W45 and W55 level with Huw Evans (West), Austin Davies (East) and Peter Osbourne (West) victorious in the equivalent men's age-groups.

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA