Event Preview: British & Irish Junior Mountain Running Championships.

Wales will be well represented with 20 athletes competing in the British & Irish Junior Mountain Championships at Peebles, Scotland on Saturday 16th September. Following the trial race for the event at Devils Bridge, near Aberystwyth last month and due to the quality and close proximity of the competitors in the boys under 17 category, it is justifiable for us to send a boys under 17 B-Team to the event giving them all an opportunity to compete at an international level against not only their Welsh colleagues, but also against the best junior mountain runners in the UK and Ireland.

The timing for the staging of the event is to coincide with the end of the Track & Field and before the start of the cross country seasons while some of the under 20 athletes will be preparing to begin their university careers.

The event, now in its 22nd year has been a valuable part of our junior athlete’s development and though England, as expected have been the most dominant individual and team Gold medal winners, Welsh athletes have enjoyed individual success from the outset when Alun Vaughan (Eryri) won the inaugural boys under 19 race in 1996 followed by Andy Davies (Stockport) in 1997. More individual successes have followed, most notably since 2009 when Wales have produced 10 Gold medallists including Bronwen Jenkinson in last year’s event at Keswick while other notable individual winners include both the Brownlee brothers.

This year’s event promises to be another exciting affair on the up and down lap courses on grassy terrain with each country producing teams of four for each individual race for under 17 women, (3.8k/187m) under 17 men, (5.8k/321m) under 20 women (5.8k/321m) and finally, the under 20 men (8k/433m)

Our Welsh athletes will be looking for more success this year and hopefully, be rewarded with the medals to bring back home. 

The team selections are listed below: 


U 17 - WOMEN

Emily Hanlon (Colwyn Bay AC)

Lucy Lawrence (Menai T&F)

Lois Lee (St Davids College, Llandudno)

Gwyneth Parry (Wrexham ACC)


U 17 – MEN

Ifan Oldfield (Wrexham ACC)

Eden Potter (Menai T&F)

Joseph Reardon (Aberdare Valley ACC)

Iestyn Williams (Carmarthen Harriers)


B-Team - U 17 - MEN

Gethin Davies (Menai T&F)

Max Dunford (St Davids College)

Tomos Land (Menai T&F)

Cai La Trobe Roberts (Menai T&F)


U 20 – WOMEN

Rhiannon Kamink (Colwyn Bay AC)

Ellie Kiff (Carmarthen Harriers)

Annabelle McQueen (Eryri Harriers)

Holly Roberts (Colwyn Bay)


U 20 - MEN

Ryan Cain (Menai T&F)

Joseph Crutchley (Maldwyn Harriers)

Cedol Dafydd (Menai T&F)

Thomas Jones (Carmarthen Harriers)



Arwel Lewis

Steve Livett

Delyth Brown

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA