Welsh Team Announced Ahead of U20 International

Wales will be putting out their strongest team possible when Welsh Athletics holds the U20 International on the 12th July. The team, which will compete against Welsh Schools and the three English regions, includes some of the best U20 athletes in the UK, with Jake Heyward headlining the Welsh line up after his gold medal in the 1500m at the recent England Championships and European U20 Championships trial event. Now that Jake has the qualifying time under his belt after his new U20 Welsh record run in Watford, qualification for the U20 European Championships in Italy is guaranteed. Brother and sister combination of Hannah and Joe Brier will also be hoping for a nod for the U20 Europeans as they both return from injury, and will compete in the 100m and 400m at the Welsh Athletics International.

The team will include three of the five Welsh athletes selected to compete at the Commonwealth Youth Games in the Bahamas, with Sarah Omoregie, Lauren Evans and James Tomlinson looking for strong performances in their final preparations before travelling out to compete as part of Team Wales where they will compete in the shot, 100m hurdles and discus respectively.

The team also includes several current Senior Welsh Champions, with Cari Hughes, Bethan Rees, Osaze Aghedo and William Edwards all having beaten their senior counterparts to take Welsh titles in the 1500m, javelin, triple jump and high jump.


The full team is below:


Men: Kristian Jones, Cardiff AAC (Coach: Glyn Hawkes)
Women: Hannah Brier, Swansea Harriers (Steve Fudge)


Men: Tyler Williams, Newport Harriers (Kevin Williams)
Women: Moli Jones, Colwyn Bay (Philip Jones)


Men: Joe Brier, Swansea Harriers (Neal Merry)
Women: Ffion Roberts, Colwyn Bay (Philip Jones)


Men: Matthew Williams, Pembrokeshire (Peter Freeman)
Women: Issy Parry-Jones, Cwmbran (Darrell Maynard)


Men: Jake Heyward, Cardiff AAC (Paul Darney)
Women: Cari Hughes, Menai (Andy Walling)

Sprint hurdles

Men: Lloyd Ellis, Leamington (Andy Poppleton)
Women: Lauren Evans, Cardiff AAC (Nigel Lewis)

400m hurdles

Men: Dan Wilde, Taunton (Charlotte Fisher)
Women: Lauren Williams, Swansea Harriers (Arnie Wray)

Long jump

Men: Ceirion Hopkins, Neath
Women: Emily Thomas, Cardiff Archers (Nigel Lewis)

Triple Jump

Men: Osaze Aghedo, Swansea Harriers (Steve Ingram)
Women: Macey Jones, Cwmbran (Nigel Lewis)

High Jump

Men: William Edwards, Carmarthen (Stephen Bailey)
Women: Abigail Buxton, Pembrokeshire (Elizabeth Rowland)


Men: Nicholas Young, Deeside (John Parkin)
Women: Sarah Omoregie, Cardiff AAC (Gareth Lease)

 Pole vault:

Women: Ffion Llewellyn, Bridgend (Laurie Needham)


Men: James Tomlinson, Pembrokeshire Harriers (Paul Jenson)


Men: Nathan James, Swansea Harriers (John Davies)
Women: Bethan Rees, Cannock and Stafford (Mark Pinner)


Men: Jonathan Jones, Gloucester (Darren Andrews)
Women: Amber Simpson, Deeside (John Parkin)

4x100m Relay

Men: Kristian Jones, Tyler Williams, Arron Owen, Callum Davies, Ceirion Hopkins, Jeremiah Azu
Women: Hannah Brier, Moli Jones, Zoe Nash, Armarni Williams, Issie Tustin, Alice Odunaiya

Athletes will be supported by the following team staff members:

Neal Merry – Sprints and hurdles

Kevin Williams – Sprints and relay

Matt Elias – Sprints and relay

Nigel Lewis – Horizontal Jumps

Denis Doyle and Amanda Wale – Vertical Jumps

Robert Eales and Ian Robinson – Throws


Oliver Wilding – Physiotherapist

Scott Simpson – Team Leader

Dave Goodger, Carol Jones, Barry Edwards - Team Managers

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA