Recent Selections for European Under 23 and World University Championships

This afternoon British Athletics announced a 54-strong team of athletes for the European Under-23 Championships which are due to be held in Bydgoszcz, Poland on the 13-16 July. From this team, one Welsh athlete has been selected to compete. This Athlete is Bath University-based Jennifer Nesbitt who will compete in the 10,000m on Friday 14th at 7:45pm. Nesbitt who is coached by David Walker from Worcester AC will look to build on her bronze medal over 10,000m at the European team championships last year. It is also important to mention Jac Palmer and Adele Nicoll who both won the British under-23 titles and trial events in Bedford last weekend but sadly missed out on selection.

The full British Athletics team for the European U23 Championships, Bydgoszcz, Poland between 13-16 July 2017:


100m: Imani Lansiquot (Jonas Dodoo) and Daryll Neita (Jonas Dodoo)

200m: Finette Agyapong (Coral Nourrice), Shannon Hylton (Ryan Freckleton), and Ama Pipi (Ronnye Harrison)

400m: Laviai Nielsen (Frank Adams)

800m: Hannah Segrave (Chris Layne)

1500m: Jess Judd (Mick Judd) and Amy Griffiths (Rob Denmark)

5000m: Jess Judd

10,000m: Philippa Bowden (Mick Woods), Phoebe Law (Mick Woods) and Jenny Nesbitt (David Walker)

3000m Steeplechase: Aimee Pratt (Vicente Modahl)

100m Hurdles: Yasmin Miller (Robert Smith)

400m Hurdles: Jessica Turner (Nick Dakin)

High Jump: Morgan Lake (Aston Moore / Fuzz Caan)

Pole Vault: Lucy Bryan (Alan Richardson)

Discus: Amy Holder (Neville Thompson)

Heptathlon: Katie Stainton (Kelly Sotherton)

4x100m relay: Finette Agyapong, Shannon Hylton, Imani Lansiquot, Daryll Neita, Yasmin Miller, Diani Walker (Lloyd Cowan)

4x400m relay: Cheriece Hylton (Ryan Freckleton), Laviai Nielsen, Lina Nielsen (Frank Adams), Ama Pipi, Kelsey Stewart (Ken Hogg), Jess Turner


100m: Reuben Arthur (Ryan Freckelton), Joseph Dewar (Gladys Bird) and Ojie Edoburun (Jonas Dodoo)

400m: Cameron Chalmers (James Hillier)

800m: Daniel Rowden (Richard Thurston / John Stow)

1500m: Robbie Fitzgibbon (Jon Bigg), Neil Gourley (Ben Thomas), James West (George Gandy / Mark Hookway)

5000m: Alex George (Paul de-Camps) *subject to fitness

10,000m: Ellis Cross (Mick Woods)

3000m Steeplechase: Jamaine Coleman (Andy Bibby) and Daniel Jarvis (Mick Woods)

110m Hurdles: Khai Riley-La Borde (Ray Gibbins / Richard Turner) and James Weaver (Laura Turner-Alleyne)

400m Hurdles: Jack Lawrie (Roy Buchanan) and Jacob Paul (Marina Armstrong)

20km Walk: Cameron Corbishley (Andi Drake)

High Jump: Chris Kandu (Fuzz Caan)

Pole Vault: Charlie Myers (Chris Boundy)

Long Jump: Jacob Fincham-Dukes (Zivile Pukstiene)

Javelin: Harry Hughes (Michael McNeil) *subject to fitness

Hammer: Taylor Campbell (John Pearson)

Decathlon: Tim Duckworth (Toby Stevenson)

4x100m: Reuben Arthur, Joseph Dewar, Kyle de Escofet (Andy Paul), Ojie Edoburun, Theo Etienne (Ryan Freckleton) and Chris Stone (Connell MacQuisten)

4x400m relay: Cameron Chalmers, Sam Hazel (Jane Dixon), Elliot Rutter (Tony Hadley), Ben Snaith (Mick Graham), Tom Somers (Benke Blomkvist), Lee Thompson (John Henson)


Endurance duo set for World University games

British Universities and Colleges Sport (BUCS) have announced their team ahead of world University games in Chinese Taipei from 19-30 August. The team has reached their maximum of 20 athletes with two Welsh Athlete being selected. The first of these athletes is Bath University-based athlete Jennifer Nesbitt who will compete in the 10,000m, this will be her second appearance in a Great Britain vest in successive weeks. The second Athlete is Brunel University based Melissa Courtney who will compete in the 1500m after winning multiple BUCS titles throughout her career.

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA