JCP Swansea Half Marathon Preview

Over six thousand Runners will return to the streets of Swansea on Sunday (25th June) morning for the JCP Swansea Half marathon. The Race is now in its fourth year of being held and is growing rapidly each year with runners of all abilities entering and taking part. The 13.1 mile course will take in some of Swansea’s finest sights with the runners passing Swansea castle, St Helen’s Rugby ground, The Bay and also the Meridian Tower.

In terms of elite fields, this years might be one of the strongest so far. Last year’s winner and recent Welsh 5000m Champion Dewi Griffiths leads a line-up of impressive male elite runners. London marathon hero Matt Rees is also in the line-up and with a personal best of 71:04 it shows that he’s not just a public hero but also a force on the roads too. Mike Kallenberg makes a return to the race on Sunday and after his recent victory in the Fleet Pre-London Half Marathon, the Leeds based athlete is certainly one to look out for. Cardiff Based runner and recent Budapest Half Marathon winner Dan Nash is also amongst the elites and with a personal best of 66:47 he is certainly in contention. Tipton Harrier and reigning Brighton Marathon Champion Stuart Hawkes is also on the elite start-list, the Kidderminster based athlete will be looking to re-write his personal best which currently stands at 68:43. It is also important to mention the two irish international marathoners Sean Hehir and Michael Clohisey who boast personal bests of 65:12 & 64:25 respectively. Last year’s third place finisher Rachel Felton is set to return to the streets of Swansea on Sunday, The run-fast athlete has a personal best of 73:42 and will certainly be in contention. Cardiff based athlete Clara Evans will also return to the race on Sunday where she finished 6th last year, Clara’s personal best currently stands at 75:34 so it will be interesting to see how she performs. Local athlete Caryl Jones of Swansea Harriers is also one to look out for and with a personal best of 71:18, she will most likely be in contention for the women’s title.

Summary of elite fields:


Matt Rees (Swansea)- PB:71:04

David Wyeth (Chorlton Runners)- PB:76:55

William Woodcock (Wirral)- PB:74:27

Ian Harris (Swansea)- PB:71:46

Chris Jordan (Leicester)- PB:70:20

Phillip Matthews (Swansea)- PB:66:23

Stuart Hawkes (Tipton)- PB:68:43

Paul Graham (Pontypridd)- PB:71:04

Mike Kallenberg (Cardiff)- PB:66:48

Dan Nash (Cardiff)- PB:66:47

Dewi Griffiths (Swansea)- PB:63:27

Matthew Harvey (Swansea)- PB:69:20

Alistair Smith (Coventry)- PB:69:40

Martin Green (North Wales RR)- PB:73:09

Danal Desta (Swansea)- PB:67:01

Marcus England (Cheltenham)- PB:73:48

Sean Hehir (Ireland)- PB:65:12

Michael Clohisey (Ireland)- PB:64:25 


Rachel Felton (Shaftesbury Barnet)- PB:73:42

Sarah Davis-Foxton (Northampton RR)- PB:83:15

Clara Evans (Cardiff)- PB:75:34

Leigh James (London Heathside)- PB:83:25

Caryl Jones (Swansea)- PB:71:18

Elizabeth Smith (Bristol & West)- PB:83:58

Naomi Mitchell (Reading AC)- PB:80:03


Last years winner Dewi Griffiths set to return.

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA