Welsh athletes named for the British Athletics Cross Challenge, Cardiff

The top Welsh Athletes have been selected to compete at the Celtic Cross Country International on Sunday.

The event takes place within the British Athletics Cardiff Cross Challenge and will see Cari Hughes (Menai Track & Field) competing for a Celtic title in the race she has won in 2014 and 2016.

Hughes recently made her Great Britain & Northern Ireland debut at the Great Edinburgh Cross Country International and has been improving throughout the season so far.

Oliver Barberesi (Menai Track & Field) secured the Celtic title in Edinburgh last year as an Under 17 and will now hope to do the same as an Under 20. He is part of a strong team which includes Elliott Lawrence (Swansea Harriers) and Oliver Dickinson (Wells City).

The Celtic Teams are as follows:

U17 girls: Kiara Frizelle (Cardiff AAC), Mia Roberts (Deeside) Carys Bill (Cardiff AAC), Caitlin Gwyther (Swansea Harriers)

U20 girls: Cari Hughes (Menai Track & Field), Heidi Davies (Brecon AC), Bethan Evans (Cardiff AAC)

U23 girls: Kate Seary (Cardiff AAC), Lara Phillipart (Swansea Harriers), Megan Carter-Davies (Cardiff AAC), Bronwen Jenkinson (Eryri)

U17 boys: Morgan James (Cardiff AAC), Ben Thomas (Carmarthen), Nathan Jones (Swansea Harriers), James Penrose (Cardiff Archers)

U20 boys: Oliver Dickinson (Wells City), Oliver Barbaresi (Menai Track & Field), Dominic Smith (Swansea), Elliot Lawrence (Swansea Harriers)

U23 boys: Jonathan Tobin (Swansea Harriers), Ciaran Lewis (Cardiff AAC), Adam Bull (Aberdare Valley), James Hunt (Cardiff AAC)

Welsh Senior Teams will compete in a Senior International against Ireland and the UK Armed Forces.

Dewi Griffiths (Swansea Harriers) has a great history at this event and will start as the current Cardiff Champion, the current IAU Inter-Counties Champion and the defending British Athletics Cross Challenge Series title holder.

Teams are as follows:

Women: Alaw Beynon-Thomas (Swansea), Clara Evans (Pontypridd Rodents), Lucy Marland (Cardiff AAC), Carys Hughes (Cardiff AAC)

Men: Dewi Griffiths (Swansea Harriers), Kris Jones (Swansea Harriers), Owain Jones (Bristol and West), Carwyn Jones (Cardiff AAC)

Further information on the event and a timetable for the day can be found here: https://cardiffxchallenge.wordpress.com/

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA