Welsh Indoor International team announced

The Welsh team for the upcoming Welsh Athletics Indoor International, which will see Wales U18 and U20 teams taking on England U18 and U20 teams, includes some of the highest ranked junior athletes in the UK.

Hannah Brier (coach: Steve Fudge) is currently in record breaking form after equalling the 60m Championship best at the recent BUCS Championships, and at the same time breaking the U20 60m Welsh record with a time of 7.31. She currently sits comfortably at the top of the UK U20 rankings, and will be joined in the team by her brother, Joe Brier (Neal Merry) in the 400m. Joe will be hoping that his expertise over the NIAC track, where he has now won both the U20 and Senior Welsh 400m Championships, will put him in good stead to take on the English opposition.

Another sprinter showing fantastic form is U20 Welsh 200m and 400m Champion Amelia Reynolds (David Norton), who will compete over the 200m, where she is currently ranked 3rd in the UK U20 rankings after her recent indoor PB. Naomi Reid (Phil Banning) and Izzy Parry-Jones (Darrell Maynard) have competed strongly indoors over both the 800m and 1500m this winter, and they will both challenge the 800m at the international, with Naomi Reid in particular looking for a nomination standard for the Commonwealth Youth Games in The Bahamas this July.

In the field events, the Welsh team includes Welsh Senior high jump silver medallist William Edwards (Stephen Bailey), Welsh Junior Shot Put Champion Nicholas Young (John Parkin), and Welsh Senior Champion Osaze Aghedo (Steve Ingram), who recently made his UK Senior Indoor Championships debut in Sheffield, finishing in 8th place. Sarah Omoregie (Gareth Lease) will be another athlete looking to compete well and secure her place on the Commonwealth Youth Games team, having already achieved the nomination standard in the U18 shot put. She will be aiming to throw close to her PB of 15.83m with the 3kg implement, which saw her top the UK U17 rankings last year.       

This may well be the first time that two sets of siblings have competed in the same Welsh junior team, as alongside Joe and Hannah Brier, Armani and Tyler Williams (coached by Welsh men’s 4 x 100m record holder and their father Kevin Williams) are named in the women’s and men’s 4 x 200m relay squads respectively. The depth of young female sprinters in Wales at the moment means that two 4 x 200m women’s relay teams will compete at the end of what should be a fantastic day of competition.

The Welsh International will take place on March 5th at the National Indoor Athletics Centre, Cardiff.



U20 - Callum Davies, Swansea Harriers (coach: Neal Merry)


U18 – Iwan Robinson – Booth, Cardiff AAC (Helen James)

U20 – Ben Paris, Cardiff Archers (Jeffrey Harwood)


U20 – Joe Brier, Swansea Harriers (Neal Merry)


U20 – James Vincent, Cardiff AAC (Phil Banning)


U20 – Tom Jenkins, Newport Harriers (Darryn McAtee)


U18 – Tomos Slade, Swansea Harriers (Tony Morris)

U20 – Rhys Harris, Swansea Harriers (Nigel Lewis)


U18 – Chinua Ebereonwu, Cardiff Archers

U20 – William Edwards, Carmarthen Harriers (Stephen Bailey)


U18 – Harri Wheeler-Sexton, Cardiff AAC (Fran Baker)

U20 – Ceirion Hopkins, Neath Harriers


U20 – Osaze Aghedo, Swansea Harriers (Steve Ingram)


U20 – Thomas Walley, Wrexham AC (Amanda Wale)


U18 – Thomas Hanson, Welsh Schools AA

U20 – Nicholas Young, Deeside AAC (John Parkin)

4 x 200m relay

Callum Davies

Joe Brier

Ben Paris

Iwan Robinson-Booth

Tyler Williams, Newport Harriers (Kevin Williams)

Kristian Jones, Cardiff AAC (Helen James)



U18 – Moli Jones, Colwyn Bay (Phil Jones)

U20 – Hannah Brier, Swansea Harriers (Steve Fudge)


U18 – Isabel Davies, Newport Harriers (Kevin Williams)

U20 – Amelia Reynolds, Cardiff AAC (David Norton)


U18 – Hannah Pachuta, Cardiff AAC (Jason Quirke)

U20 – Lauren Williams, Swansea Harriers (Arnie Wray)


U18 – Naomi Reid, Cardiff AAC (Phil Banning)

U20 – Izzy Parry-Jones, Cwmbran Harriers (Darrell Maynard)


U18 – Kiara Frizelle, Cardiff AAC (Phil Banning)

U20 – Issy Morris, Brecon AC (Derek Osborne)


U18 – Isabel Breeden, Cardiff AAC (Diane Breeden)

U20 – Mia Evans, Swansea Harriers


U18 – Lauren Evans, Cardiff AAC (Nigel Lewis)

U20 – Abigail Buxton, Pembrokeshire (Elizabeth Rowland)


U18 – Emily Thomas, Cardiff Archers (Nigel Lewis)

U20 – Catrin Lord, Cardiff AAC (Nigel Lewis)


U18 – Eliza Durnall, Cardiff AAC

U20 – Macey Jones, Cwmbran Harriers (Nigel Lewis)


U18 – Megan Hodgson, Cardiff AAC (Gareth Lease)

U20 – Lois Hillman, Cardiff AAC (Laurie Needham)


U18 – Sarah Omoregie, Cardiff AAC (Gareth Lease)

4 x 200m relay

(2 women’s relay teams will run)

Hannah Brier

Moli Jones

Isabel Davies

Amelia Reynolds

Lauren Williams

Hannah Pachuta

Lana Culliford, Cardiff AAC (Helen James)

Issie Tustin, Cardiff AAC (Jeffrey Harwood)

Armani Williams, Newport Harriers (Kevin Williams)

Zoe Nash, Newport Harriers (Kevin Williams)

Team Staff

Team leader: Scott Simpson

Team managers: Emma Wiltshire and Carol Jones

Assistant team manager: Darryn McAtee

Sprints and hurdles: Helen James and Neal Merry

Jumps: Edward Thompson and Fran Baker

Throws: Pete Roberts

Endurance: Liz Davies

WA staff members: Adrian Palmer, Neil Wheeler, Matt Elias, Chris Jones

Physiotherapist: Liba Sheeran

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA