Welsh Athletics Marathon Championships

The Virgin Money London Marathon taking place on Sunday once again hosts the Welsh Marathon Championships for men and women, and also teams.

Athletes must be Welsh and registered with Welsh Athletics to be included in the Championships, with the top 3 men and women taking the podium positions.

Team positions will be based on cumulative times.

This year could see a 3-way battle for the men’s title with Andrew Davies (Steve Vernon), Mike Kallenberg (James Thie) and Joshua Griffiths (self-coached) all looking for the Commonwealth Games qualifying time of 2 hours and 16 minutes.

All 3 are in fine form heading into the London Marathon. Joshua Griffiths will be competing in his first marathon, having run a solo pb of 65:18 in the Llanelli Half Marathon last month. Andrew Davies paced himself to 67:15 in the Liverpool Half Marathon 3 weeks ago, while Mike Kallenberg ran 67:21 in the Fleet Half Marathon last month.

With weather conditions looking good, if they all get in a good group we could see some fast times leading the Welsh rankings.

Last year’s women’s Welsh Champion Rosie Edwards (Dennis Russell) is once again running in London. Having run 2.45:04 on her debut last year, she will be looking for a pb after running 55:53 in the Papa Johns 10 miler in Kentucky 3 weeks ago. Her aim being the 2.37:00 Commonwealth Games qualifying time. Clara Evans (James Thie) will be chasing close behind after running a 3 minute pb of 75:34 in the Reading Half Marathon recently.   

Angharad Mair will once again be looking to break the British V55 marathon record that she first broke in the London Marathon last year, and was subsequently broken in August by English runner Treena Johnson. Angharad ran 37:46 in the Cardiff Bay 10k and 64:42 in the Pontypridd Reverse 10 Miles recently. However, Treena has been running similar times so both should have a battle on Sunday with an eye on the 2.56:19 British record.

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA