Dyfed Primary Schools Cross Country Championships Report

Dyfed primary school pupils and spectators once again turned out in their numbers last Thursday evening, 15th March at one of the most popular sporting events currently being held in Dyfed and West Wales in front of a packed house in Nantyci.

A total of over 1,400 runners from 75 Dyfed primary schools across Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Ceredigion competed in the annual cross country championships at the United Counties Showground. Now in its 31st year, the races were organised by Hedydd Davies. The likes of Gold Coast Commonwealth Games bound Caryl Jones, Caryl Granville and Josh Griffiths along with Dewi Griffiths all began their careers and had first taste of experience at these local school events and the future generation were looking to be inspired and follow in their footsteps.

Ysgol Y Dderwen, Carmarthen came out victorious as they were crowned 2018 champions, winning a total of five age groups in the process. Results of the top 10 runners in each age group are highlighted below:

Year 3 Girls: 1 Esme Lynock (Rhys Pritchard); 2 Gwennan Jones (Y Dderwen); 3 Meadow Norris (Comins Coch); 4 Ella Andrews (St Mary’s); 5 Grace Fraser Jones (Llangynnwr); 6 Tilly May Upton (St Mary’s); 7 Connie Lewis (Gelli Aur); 8 Lexi Allen (Mary Immaculate); 9 Chelsea Lewis (Y Bedol); 10 Amelia Welsby (Gymraeg Rhydaman)

Year 3 Boys: 1 Rhys James (Y Dderwen); 2 William Jones (Llandovery College); 3 Josh Morris (Carreg Hirfaen); 4 Jack Billingham (Tavernspite); 5 Thomas Jones (Griffith Jones); 6 Dewi Williams (Llandovery College); 7 Charlie Eattey (Dewi Sant); 8 Ryan Rees (Iau Llangennech); 9 Bobby Lewis (Dewi Sant); 10 Ioan Thomas (Dewi Sant)

Year 4 Girls: Ophelia Jenkins (Tavernspite); 2 Mabli Collier (Pontyberem); 3 Martha Morgan (Teilo Sant); 4 Soffia-Mai Davies (Nantgaredig); 5 Jessica Norman (Llansteffan); 6 Charlotte Merry (St Michaels); 7 Beatrice Morgan (Llangadog); 8 Tirion Yate (Dewi Sant); 9 Chiara Quinn (Milford Haven Juniors); 10 Erin Powell (Model)

Year 4 Boys: Steffan Thomas (Teilo Sant); 2 Iwan Brazier (Y Ddwylan); 3 Sam Griffiths (Llangynnwr); 4 Llion Davies (Y Dderwen); 5 Carter Heywood (Tenby Juniors); 6 Jac Jones (Nantgaredig); 7 William Coles (Rhys Pritchard); 8 Tristan Warrender (Plascrug); 9 Llyr Bowen (Llangynnwr); 10 Ollie Thompson (Haverfordwest)

Year 5 Girls: 1 Martha Brandy-Phillips (Aberaeron); 2 Anna Joyce (Penllwyn); 3 Casi Gregson (Carreg Hirfaen); 4 Ella Glynn (Y Dderwen); 5 Ellie-May John (Gwenllian); 6 Carys Kenniford (Lamphey); 7 Indie Lynch (Roch); 8 Annabelle Wilson (Roch); 9 Phyllis Davies (Tavernspite); 10 Louisa Cliffe (Dewi Sant)

Year 5 Boys: 1 Macsen Toogood (Teilo Sant); 2 Rowan Dixon (Milford Haven); 3 William Harries (Hook); 4 Aron Hedd Jones (Y Dderwen); 5 Daniel Warrender (Plascrug); 6 Liam Upton-Boorman (Johnstown); 7 Steffan Liam (Penrhyn Coch); 8 Alex Coles (Rhys Pritchard); 9 Dylan Bowles (Milford Haven Juniors); 10 James Llewellyn (Model)

Year 6 Girls: 1 Erin Morgan (Y Dderwen); 2 Frances Mackie (Y Castell); 3 Eleanor White (Y Garn); 4 Maddy James (Lamphey); 5 Carys Wood (Stepaside); 6 Seren Davies (Aberaeron); 7 Bessy Hill (Y Ddwylan); 8 Katelyn Sharp (Glannau Gwaun); 9 Holly John (Roch); 10 Katie David (Cleddau Reach)

Year 6 Boys: 1 Ifan Bowen (Y Dderwen); 2 Finlay Tarling (Aberaeron); 3 Iwan Thomas (Parc Y Tywyn); 4 Rhys Caygill (Llandudoch); 5 Tomos Lewis (Y Dderwen); 6 Cai Prenderville (Iau Llangennech); 7 Jake Lynock (Rhys Pritchard); 8 Finley Bruce (Gelli Aur); 9 Llyr Jones (Llanon, Aberystwyth); 10 Jac Jones (Llanddarog)

Pupils and teachers now look forward to the summer track and field season with the Carmarthenshire and Dyfed events taking place at the Leisure Centre in Johnstown during May and June.

Over 1,400 runners competed at the Dyfed Schools Cross Country Championships

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA