Coach & Athlete Programmes

Programme Dates 2017/2018

Please note that the Autumn/Winter activity has now concluded to make way for the busy Spring and Summer season. A new calendar will be available from October 2018 for the 2018/2019 Autumn/Winter delivery period. 

Thank you to all coaches, parents and athletes for their attendance at the various event group initiatives that have taken place. Over the Winter we saw a record number of athletes and parents supporting the development of our systems. A special thank you to personal coaches and delivery teams for your commitment throughout.

We look forward to seeing you all during what will prove to be another busy season.

Good luck from all of us,

Neil Wheeler - National Sprints, Hurdles and Relays Manager
[summary of speed activity can be found here]

Adrian Palmer - National Field Events Manager

Chris Jones - National Endurance Manager

Denis DoyleNorth Wales Coach & Athlete Support Officer

......................................

About the Regional and National Programmes

Each event group deliver Regional and National activity with a core set of principles aiming to enhance the behaviours, knowledge and skills of athletes. These programmes may be delivered in a different format that reflect the strategic aims of each event area. Generally the programmes include;

Regional Programmes - u15, u17, u20 age group athletes, invite system (varies between event groups)

National Programmes - u17, u20, u23+ age group athletes, invite system (varies between event groups)

Parents and personal coaches to athletes are also invited to attend. Regional activity is also open to all coaches from any club or event group regardless of whether personal athletes are invited or not, it is open to all. 

Contacts;

National Managers

Field Events - Adrian Palmer - adrian.palmer@welshathletics.org 
Sprints, Hurdles & Relays - Neil Wheeler neil.wheeler@welshathletics.org
Endurance - Chris Jones - chris.jones@welshathletics.org

Regional Programme

North Wales
North Wales Coach & Athlete Support Officer - Denis Doyle - denis.doyle@welshathletics.org

Endurance
National Coordinator - Sharon Leech - sharon.leech@welshathletics.org 
North Coordinator - John Messum john.messum@hotmail.com

Speed
South & East Coordinator - Jason Quirke jasonquirke@sky.com
West Coordinator - Steve Boyles steveib4@hotmail.co.uk

 

updated 03/05/2018

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA